Split – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack – 2XLP

43 (excl. VAT and shipping cost)

Out of stock

Email when stock available

Split, a terrifying, breakneck thriller, centers on Kevin Wendell Crumb (James McAvoy), a man with dissociative identity disorder whose more sinister personalities (collectively known as The Horde) kidnap three teenage girls. The plan is to feed the girls to another of Crumb’s personalities, a superhuman creature known as The Beast. The final girl, Casey Cooke (Anya Taylor-Joy) is spared because The Beast sees scars covering Casey’s body, markers of child-hood abuse. Because Casey, unlike the other girls, has suffered, her heart is pure. “Rejoice,” The Beast tells her. “The broken are the more evolved.”

The Split score, by West Dylan Thordson, became the first collaboration between Shyamalan and the composer. Sonic, sinister and foreboding, the music was unlike any recorded for a film before. “I started by recording several loose takes of some simple harmonic bowing ideas with a cellist and violinist,” Thordson said. “The intention was to heavily modulate the captured sounds. While playing around with an idea in the past, I’d accidentally captured something like this and wanted to explore it more. The resulting sound was extremely chaotic, unpredictable, and scary. It felt haunted and seemed to capture the otherworldly, tortured, animalistic quality I was looking for. I wanted it to feel like “Jaws,” foreshadowing the existence of this malevolent being.”


A01 Opening 1:33
A02 What’s Wrong With Barry? 2:52
A03 Dr. Fletcher In Philadelphia 1:35
A04 A Way Out 3:01
A05 Dr. Fletcher And The World 2:00
A06 What Are You Up To, Dennis? 1:14
A07 Casey Tells The Truth 1:40
B08 Somebody Save Us 2:00
B09 Last Rites 3:20
B10 I Know You Want To Tell Me Something 2:33
B11 There Are Things That Are Hard To Believe 3:07
B12 I’m Really Sad You Feel This Way 2:52
C13 Arrival 2:08
C14 Meeting The Others 3:38
C15 The Beast Is On The Move 3:09
C16 Dr. Fletcher’s Death 1:42
C17 Casey Meets The Beast 4:19
D18 Kevin Wendell Crumb 2:41
D19 The Standoff 3:24
D20 The Rise Of The Beast 3:38
D21 Rejoice 3:18
D22 The Beast (Bonus Track) 3:50
Listen on Apple MusicListen on Spotify
  • Pressed on 180 Gram Double LP Yellow Colored Vinyl
  • Old Style Tip-On Gatefold Jackets with Satin Coating
  • Deluxe Packaging and Heavyweight Printed Insert
SKU: 0728028478952

Related products