The Last Emperor – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack – LP

30 (excl. VAT and shipping cost)

Only 1 left in stock

Composers: Cong Su, David Byrne, Ryuichi Sakamoto Label: Music On Vinyl Catalog number: MOVATM305 Origin: Europe Released: 2021
Expected to ship in 1-3 business days. Please note that we will ship the records together once all items in the order are in-hand and ready to ship, including pre-order products. Have questions? Please check our FAQs.

The Last Emperor is a lavish historical epic directed by the great Italian filmmaker Bernardo Bertolucci and starring John Lone, Joan Chen, and Peter O’Toole. The film tells the life story of Pu Yi, the last monarch of the Chinese Qing dynasty prior to the republican revolution in 1911. The score for The Last Emperor was created by an unlikely trio: Ryuichi Sakamoto, David Byrne, and Cong Su. The soundtrack is a theme-filled exploration of the sounds and musical traditions of Imperial China, filtered through some very contemporary sensibilities.

Sakamoto’s contribution comprises nine cues and is focused around his main theme: a beautiful, lyrical melody for the full orchestra. It’s soft, wistful, and introspective, but becomes increasingly dramatic. Byrne contributes five cues, and the first one is the most recognisable, as it’s the main title theme playing over the film’s stylish opening credits sequence. It emerges from a set of evocative Chinese percussion items, with the melody being carried by a gorgeous, lilting erhu. It’s traditional and wholly steeped in Chinese classical music, but it has a real emotional weight that will connect with westerners. Cong Su’s contribution to the soundtrack album comprises just one cue – “Lunch” – but there is much more of his music in the film; Su was basically responsible for writing all the period-specific Chinese source music one hears in and around the imperial palace during Pu Yi’s childhood. All in all, Sakamoto, Byrne and Cong Su deliver an excellent score.


Ryuichi Sakamoto
A1 First Coronation 1:45
A2 Open The Door 2:55
A3 Where Is Armo? 2:26
A4 Picking Up Brides 2:39
A5 The Last Emperor – Theme Variation 1 2:19
A6 Rain (I Want A Divorce) 1:50
A7 The Baby (Was Born Dead) 0:56
A8 The Last Emperor – Theme Variation 2 4:29
A9 The Last Emperor – Theme 5:52
David Byrne
B1 Main Title Theme (The Last Emperor) 4:01
B2 Picking A Bride 1:59
B3 Bed 5:00
B4 Wind, Rain And Water 2:17
B5 Paper Emperor 1:48
Cong Su
B6 Lunch 4:02
B7 The Red Guard Accordion Band – Red Guard 2:13
B8 Johann Strauss Jnr. – The Emperor’s Waltz 3:07
B9 The Girls Red Guard Dancers – The Red Guard Dance 0:37
Listen on Apple MusicListen on Spotify
  • Pressed on 180 Gram Black Vinyl
  • Includes insert with liner notes and photos
  • PVC protective sleeve
  • 1987 Oscar Award For Best Music
  • Movie directed by Bernardo Bertolucci
SKU: 600753927441

Related products