The Shawshank Redemption – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack – 2XLP

37 (excl. VAT and shipping cost)

Out of stock

Email when stock available

The Shawshank Redemption score was composed by multiple (Grammy) award winner Thomas Newman. The score was nominated for an Academy Award for Best Original Score in 1994, which was Newman’s first Oscar nomination.A central scene in the film features the soprano “Letter Duet” (“Canzonetta sull’aria”) from Mozart’s The Marriage of Figaro, which is included on the soundtrack.

The Shawshank Redemption tells the story of Andy Dufresne (Tim Robbins), a banker who is sentenced to life in Shawshank State Penitentiary for the murder of his wife and her lover, despite his claims of innocence. During his time at the prison, he befriends a fellow inmate, Ellis Boyd “Red” Redding (Morgan Freeman), and finds himself protected by the guards after the warden begins using him in his money-laundering operation.

The film received multiple award nominations (including seven Oscar nominations) and highly positive reviews from critics for its acting, story, and realism. It is considered to be one of the greatest films of the 90s. Readers of Empire magazine voted the film as the best film of the 90s, and it placed number 4 on Empire’s list of “The 500 Greatest Movies of All Time” in 2008. In March 2011, the film was voted by BBC Radio 1 listeners as their favorite film of all time. The Shawshank Redemption is the highest-rated movie on IMDB with an average star count of 9.3, closely followed by The Godfather.


A1 May 0:33
A2 Shawshank Prison (Stoic Theme) 1:53
A3 New Fish 1:50
A4 Rock Hammer 1:51
A5 An Inch Of His Life 2:48
A6 If I Didn’t Care – Performer The Inkspots 3:03
B1 Brooks Was Here 5:06
B2 His Judgement Cometh 2:00
B3 Suds On The Roof 1:36
B4 Workfield 1:10
B5 Shawshank Redemption 4:26
C1 Lovesick Blues – Performer Hank Williams 2:42
C2 Elmo Blatch 1:08
C3 Sisters 1:18
C4 Zihuatanejo 4:43
C5 The Marriage Of Figaro / “Duettino – Sull ‘Aria” – Performer Karl Böhm, Deutsch Oper Berlini 3:32
D1 Lovely Raquel 1:55
D2 And That Right Soon 1:08
D3 Compass And Guns 3:53
D4 So Was Red 2:44
D5 End Title 4:05
Listen on Apple Music
  • Pressed on 2x 180 gram Black Vinyl
  • PVC protective sleeve
  • Incl. original songs by The Inkspots and Hank Williams
  • Score by multiple Grammy Award winner Thomas Newman
SKU: 8719262001701

Related products