Walkabout – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack – LP

30 (excl. VAT and shipping cost)

Only 1 left in stock

Composer: John Barry Label: The Roundtable Catalog number: PM001LP Origin: Australia Released: 2016
Expected to ship in 1-3 business days. Please note that we will ship the records together once all items in the order are in-hand and ready to ship, including pre-order products. Have questions? Please check our FAQs.

A lost paradise, a lost innocence, and a lost culture; these are the dominant themes presented in Nicolas Roeg’s 1971 masterpiece Walkabout, a survival story of two children lost in the scorched Australian wilderness. Together with other seminal Australian surrealistic outback films, (e.g. Wake In Fright) Walkabout was a film that reshaped the Australian film industry and defined the country’s New Wave. On the cusp of the film’s 45t h anniversary it is pertinent to observe that for decades the film’s original soundtrack has also been considered lost. Composed and conducted by the acclaimed British film composer John Barry, the score is a hallucinogenic mix of exotic romanticism, children’s nursery rhyme and potent psychedelic experimentation. For decades, the consensus among soundtrack circles was that the master tapes were officially missing with little chance that the music would ever see a legitimate release, but The Roundtable is pleased to announce that this is no longer the case. The complete soundtrack to one of cinema history’s most visually spellbinding films has now finally been re-discovered, sourced from the original stereo master tapes and prepared to the guidelines of the original ill-fated 1970s LP release.


A1 Walkabout
A2 The Children
A3 Stranded
A4 Survival Test
A5 Electronic Dance
A6 The Journey
B1 The Three Of Us
B2 Together At Sunset
B3 Los Angeles – Composed By – W. Marley
B4 Night In The Outback
B5 Professional Crumble
B6 Back To Nature
Listen on Apple MusicListen on Spotify
  • Pressed on 180 Gram Black Vinyl and deluxe packaging including archival film stills and original press material
  • The premiere soundtrack release to Nicolas Roeg’s 1971 New Wave Masterpiece
  • Lost hallucinogenic score from acclaimed film composer John Barry
  • 12-track LP sourced from the original stereo master tapes
SKU: 643597936569

Related products