Hyena – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack – 2XLP

37 (excl. VAT and shipping cost)

Only 1 left in stock

Composer: The The Label: Death Waltz Recording Co. Catalog number: DW039 Origin: USA Released: 2015
Expected to ship in 1-3 business days. Please note that we will ship the records together once all items in the order are in-hand and ready to ship, including pre-order products. Have questions? Please check our FAQs.

Death Waltz Recording Company are proud to bring you a modern classic from one of Britain’s most revered bands. Directed by Gerard Johnson, HYENA is a breakneck thriller dealing with Police corruption in West London with an incredibly atmospheric score by Matt Johnson aka The The. Following super-bent copper Michael, HYENA highlights the dark and grimy side of being on the take, with none of the flash and glamour usually seen in movies like this. The The – scoring their second movie with Gerard Johnson after TONY – give the film an evocative soundtrack that weaves between seduction and horror.

The score to HYENA comes across like a fever dream; vignettes of hip-hop and house beats with incredible synthesizer melodies laid on top, threatening electronic effects roaring like a Formula 1 car engine, even choral sections with haunted vocals that show the inevitable influence of Vangelis. Instrumentation is eclectic, with electric and acoustic guitars creating anticipation and dissonance while steel drums and Eastern strings subconsciously illustrate the diversity of the area. Similarly, HYENA combines its musical influences to produce a score that reflects the danger of Michael’s situation but also the exhilaration. No matter how you feel about corruption or the police, HYENA is essential.


A1 The Invisible City (Raid)
A2 Dragons In Paradise
A3 Splayed
A4 Blondes Before Bedtime
A5 Blue Eyes
A6 Fear Porn
A7 The Invisible City (Reign)
B1 A Woman’s Wound
B2 People In The Rain
B3 The Invisible City (Rogue)
B4 Take Me Away From All This
B5 Tiny Blue Sirens
B6 Death Nest
B7 Bait & Switch
C1 The Invisible City (Reap)
C2 Feeding The Fire
C3 Harvest Of Souls
C4 Bathing In Flame
C5 Killers & Concubines
C6 Everybody Wants To Go To Heaven (But Nobody Wants To Die)
Listen on Spotify
  • Double album pressed on 140gm custom blue colour housed inside a 425 gsm leather look sleeve with an etching on side 4
  • comes with full colour booklet and an exclusive lobby card
SKU: 5053760014942

Related products